On the Sunday after Thanksgiving, I rushed my wife to the emergency room at Baltimore’s Sinai Hospital. What she had thought was just whatever stomach bug was going around turned out to be a life-threatening condition that would take her to nearly every corner of Sinai. And three weeks later, I would find myself sitting in the surgical waiting room at Sinai as a rock-star surgeon operated on her robotically in front of a crowd of other doctors.

It wasn’t my first time wandering the halls of the hospital. Twelve years ago, my son was hospitalized at Sinai when he had appendicitis. A lot has changed in those twelve years. But what surprised me more is what hasn’t.

I’ve spent a lot of time in the hospital over the past few weeks, and have become all too well acquainted with the technology there. I’ve covered health IT in the past, but there’s a big difference between talking with people about what’s happening in the health industry with technology as a whole and experiencing it from the chair next to the hospital bed. What I found is that medical IT is a patchwork quilt of Star Trek and steampunk that seems to work despite itself.

Read 39 remaining paragraphs | Comments

via Ars Technica » Technology Lab http://feeds.arstechnica.com/~r/arstechnica/technology-lab/~3/HSjSeOx_HVE/

